John and Eva Porter Estate
Elm Pointe is an eleven acre estate developed circa 1926 by John J. and Eva Porter. The house, designed by Grand Rapids architect J. Alexander McColl, was constructed of lumber milled by the East Jordan Lumber Company. An unusual contemporary version of Colonial architecture, the house provided a showcase for the company’s products when the Porters entertained clients. Robert W. and Augustine Allen purchased the estate in 1942 to use as a summer home. They built the lodge in the early 1940s. Augustine Allen Westgate donated the property with many of its original furnishings to the City of East Jordan in 1972. The Portside Art and Historical Society’s museum was established here in 1976.